Sacramento County was one of the original counties of California, which was created in 1850 at the time of statehood.

Sacramento County extends from the low delta lands between the Sacramento River and San Joaquin River, including Suisun Bay, north to about 10 miles (16 km) beyond the State Capitol and east into the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. The southernmost portion of Sacramento County has direct access to San Francisco Bay.

Main Cities in Sacramento County: